Jewish Budapest, Hungary Photos
PURCHASE GREAT MEMORIES OF YOUR TRIP TO THE JEWISH QUARTER IN BUDAPEST, HUNGARY- FOR HOME OR OFFICE.
This gallery features photos of the synagogues, monuments, museums in Jewish Budapest, Hungary.
A custom image featuring Judaica from Budapest and Prague Synagogues is featured as the very first image -top left column. This features stained glass windows, tiles, Ner Tamids, and other treasures located in the synagogues featured in this gallery as well as Gallery 38.
Great Synagogue also called Dohany Synagogue-1859
The consecration of the synagogue was a major event on September 6, 1859. It can hold 3000 seated and approximately 2000 standing people. Major events took and take place here, like the celebrations part of the 1000th anniversary of the Hungarian Conquest in May 1896, memorial services for important Hungarian personalities in the 19th century, liturgical, organ or Klezmer concerts nowadays. The Dohany Synagogue remained the most important religious centre of the Neolog Jews in Hungary to this day.
The synagogue on the Dohany street of Pest is not only the most impressive one in the country, but it's the largest synagogue of Europe, the second largest one in the world. (The largest Jewish house of worship in the world is the Temple Emanu-El in New York). Oriental-Byzantine decoration or a Moorish style makes the Dohany synagogue so unique. It was constructed on an asymmetric lot in order to place the Ark looking East.
The exterior features a rose window made of stained glass, Stone Tablet Shaped Windows, and Eight-pointed stars that decorate the whole building synagogue.
The galleries have a special role in this Neolog synagogue, they were meant to separate women from men. Nowadays however, ladies who attend the services sit downstairs, in the two side rows of the isle.
Behind the Ark of the Dohany synagogue a huge organ is hidden. Occasionally the Dohany synagogue is home to excellent organ concerts, Franz Liszt himself played on the opening ceremony, nowadays Xaver Varnus can be heard sometimes.
Raoul Wallenberg Memorial Park
Raoul Wallenberg Memorial Park is adjacent to the synagogue and is the site where many Righteous Gentiles are honored. The park also contains the Weeping Willow or Tree of Life Memorial that some think looks like an upside down menorah. Many names of victims of the Holocaust were engraved on the leaves of the steel weeping willow for eternal remembrance. The garden is home to other memorials too such as the Stained Glass Memorial, Wall, Forced March Sculpture by Imra Varga and a plaque honoring Wallenberg.
Behind the Stained Glass Holocaust Memorial is the Heroe's Synagogue. The Heroe’s Synagogue designed by László Vágó and Ferenc Faragó and built on the plot of land next to the Dohány street Synagogue was inaugurated in 1931. The building is a memorial to Jewish soldiers who had fallen in the First World War. The clean lines and modern style of the building demonstrate the well-thought-out, functional planning of Jewish places of worship at the time. With its slightly Eastern influence, the synagogue and the park next to it, are surrounded by a row of arcades, symbolizing the openness of the Jewish communal places.
The wing with the arcades attached to the Great Synagogue houses the Jewish Museum which was built and opened in 1931. The museum is home to stained glass windows, Judaica of all kinds including menorahs, yads, shofars,ketubahs, torah crowns, plates, and covers, etc, rare photos, geneology research, art, holocaust collection, Theodor Herzl's birthplace, gravestones and much more.
Shoes on the Danube Promenade
The idea to place a monument on the river embankment to the victims of the Arrow Cross terror belongs to Gyula Pauer, Hungarian sculptor awarded the Kossuth-prize, and to his friend Can Togay. The monument contains of 60 pairs of iron shoes, forming a row of about 40 metres. It is a commemoration dedicated to the victims of the fascist Arrow Cross party who shot the people right into the river, sparing themselves the hard work of burials. The victims had to take their shoes off, since shoes were valuable belongings at the time.The site is symbolic, this part of the embankment was not the only one used for this purpose.
The image in this gallery of the Shoes on the Danube Promenade intentionally shows a Catholic church- Szent Anna templom in the background across the Danube. Fatner András Kun was a Roman Catholic priest of the Franciscan Order. He was also the commander of a racist death squad for Hungary's Fascist and Pro-Nazi Arrow Cross Party. In his cassock, Father Kun commanded an Arrow Cross death squad which massacred Jews and was documented to order "In the name of Christ - fire!" while killing Jews. After the war, he was convicted of crimes against humanity and hung. May he rot in hell.
The iron shoes were placed on the embankment in 2005, on 16th April. The name of the composition is Shoes on the Danube Promenade, each pair being modelled after a contemporary shoe from the 1940's.
Other images include a Kosher Restaurant, Kosher pastry specialty advertisement, and the facade of the Orthodox Synagogue.
Some useful travel resources are:
Great Synagogue Budapest Information
Hungarian Jewish Museum Information