BASEL, SWITZERLAND PHOTOS.
PURCHASE GREAT MEMORIES OF YOUR VISIT TO BASEL, SWITZERLAND - FOR HOME OR OFFICE!
Basel, Switzerland Photos
Basel is Switzerland's oldest university city. Historic landmarks of the city include the large market square with its richly decorated red sandstone town hall and the late Romanesque-Gothic cathedral known as the Münster. This gallery features these landmarks.
In summer, the people of Basel like nothing better than to swim inthe Rhine. They meet at one of the historic Art Nouveau lidos, get changed for a refreshing dip – and then simply go with the flow. Incidentally there isn’t a more impressive view of the Old Town to be had anywhere. Watch out for boats!!
The word «Pfalz» is derived from «palatium» (palace). The terrace located high above the Rhine behind the Cathedral (Münster) is known as the Pfalz because the bishop’s residence was once located in the immediate vicinity. Steps lead down from the Pfalz to the jetty of the Münsterfähre (Cathedral Ferry). On the other hand, the quiet cloister of the cathedral may be accessed through a narrow gap. Also to be seen are the many ornate gravestones of members of prominent Basel families from the 16th to the 19th centuries.
The Münster is one of Basel's main sights. Situtated in a promiment position high above the Rhine River, the former episcopal church presides high above the region. The reformed church is a vivid monument to Romanesque and Gothic red sandstone architecture (1019-1500). It can look back on a varied history with a rich tradition of outstanding musical events and church services.
A visit to the Rathaus (city hall) is worthwhile especially on account of the council chamber, the attractive inner courtyard, the romantic arcades and the tower. It was built after the great earthquake to replace the former seat of government. After Basel joined the Swiss Confederation, the front part of the building was replaced with an imposing new structure. The coats of arms of Basel and the 11 other members of the then Confederation adorn the crenellations. At the beginning of the 17th century, the city hall was extended, and the artist Hans Bock decorated the facade with painted trompe l'oeil. In 1900 the building was extended again to include the left-hand wing and the tower at the right.